Research Compliance

Reviews existing and new administrative requirements imposed by federal regulations and program officers related to but not limited to the human research participant protections, animal use and care, conflicts of interest (individual and institutional), objectivity in research, and export controls. The emphasis should be on harmonization of requirements across federal agencies, reduction of redundancies and identifying good practices.


  • IRB Wizard Demonstration
  • Data Transfer and Use Agreement (DTUA) Pilot
  • Compliance Unit Standard Procedure (CUSP)
  • FDP/SMART Reliance Agreement
  • Lab Safety Working Group

Notes from Compliance Retreat, September 2015 
Notes from Lab Safety Session Jan 2016

Human Subjects Protections
Co-Chair: John Baumann, Indiana University
Co-Chair: Debra Murphy, Arizona State University

Conflict of Interest
Co-Chair: Diane Dean, National Institutes of Health
Co-Chair: Amanda Humphrey, Northeastern University
Co-Chair: Lindsey Spangler, Duke University
Animal Care and Use
Co-Chair: Axel Wolff, National Institutes of Health
Co-Chair: Sally Thompson-Iritani, University of Washington
Project Manager: Asmita Kumar, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Research Security
Co-Chair: Doug Backman, University of Central Florida
Co-Chair: Mark Sweet, University of Wisconsin, Madison 
Co-Chair: Lisa Nicholls, University of Pennsylvania

Data Stewardship
Co-Chair: Christopher Martin, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Co-Chair: Jennifer Welch, Brown University

Committee Members

Member Organization
Melissa Korf (Co-chair) Harvard Medical School
Diane Dean (Co-chair) National Institutes of Health
Doug Backman University of Central Florida
Asmita Kumar Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Sally Thompson-Iritani University of Washington
John Baumann New York University
Amanda Humphrey Northeastern University
Lindsey Spangler Duke University
Aubrey Schoenleben University of Washington
Christopher Martin Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Alice Young Texas Tech University
Jennifer Welch Brown University
Debra Murphy Arizona State University
John Baumann Indiana University
Sheila Garrity George Washington University
Axel Wolff National Institutes of Health