Research Systems Technologies Committee (RSTC)


The Research Systems Technologies Committee (RSTC) serves to advocate for, optimize, and integrate technology solutions across the full life cycle of the research enterprise, in the service of the FDP’s mission to streamline the administration of federally sponsored research and foster collaboration. We are a programmatic committee reporting directly to the FDP Executive Committee. The RSTC collaborates with Federal agencies, institutions, and vendors to promote standards and best practices related to systems and data requirements; Quantify impact analysis of proposed regulatory changes as they impact systems and technology; Conduct demonstrations and recommend technology solutions to agencies and institutions that minimize burden.

Current Activities & Initiatives

  • Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) and how to best utilize eRA systems and engage agencies
  • Joint Application Design (JAD) addresses issues in the system and streamlines the process of using to submit grant applications
  • GSA/ transition from DUNS to UEI
  • LOC Blockchain and HHS/OMB Digital Dossier in conjunction with Open Government group
  • Continuous updates to Federal Agency System Matrix
  • SciENcv and ORCiD – engage with agencies to ensure smooth transition

Recent Accomplishments

  • Published the Federal Agency System Matrix. The matrix is a database of federal online systems and portals, searchable by system or agency name.
  • JAD – provide quarterly feedback on usability and proposed enhancements

Committee Members

Chris Booher, National Institutes of Health
Stephen Dowdy, University of Maryland
Vonda Durrer, University of Virginia
Kasima Garst, National Institutes of Health
Kim Griffin, Northwestern University
Jim Kresl, University of Washington
Emily Lacy, University of Texas, Dallas
Kim Mann, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Carolyn Pappas, University of Michigan
Joel Snyderman, National Institutes of Health
Ron Splittgerber, Colorado State University
Mark Sweet, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Tapiana Wray, University of Alaska

 Subcommittees and Working Groups

Chaired by:

Carolyn Pappas, University of Michigan

FDP Meeting Session Slides & Meeting Summaries

All meeting presentations and summaries can be located at the Meetings & Listening Sessions webpage.

Contact Information

Please contact the co-chairs of the Research Systems Technologies Committee at with any questions, comments, suggestions, or concerns. FDP members can join the RSTC listserv (FDP-RSTC-FULL-L@LSW.NAS.EDU) for updates and to post questions and comments to the committee. Subscribe at Join Listservs.